Tuesday, December 7, 2010

love languages

I'm sure some of you have heard about "The 5 Love Languages" book by Gary Chapman. He wrote the book several years ago. I remember reading it either before or right after we got married. If you haven't ever found out what your love language is, you really should. It doesn't matter if you are married, single, a daughter or son, it applies to everyone.They had us take the short assessment at work to see what we would be. A few years ago when I took it, I was mostly quality time. The most interesting thing is that when I recently re-took it, it's now Gifts. It doesn't surprise me that much, because I feel like over the past 5 years my whole personality has changed.
Knowing your love language can help you and a spouse, friend or parent better communicate. Imagine if all the people you were close to knew exactly what you needed and vice versa.
On the website you can take a new assessment of yourself. There is also a fun new one about Apology.

Here were my reults:


Expressing Regret
Accepting Responsibility
Making Restitution
Genuinely Repenting
Requesting Apology

Accepting Responsibility
You have chosen Accepting Responsibility as your primary Apology Language. What you are looking for in an apology is maturity. You most want to hear the offending party say, I was wrong and I take responsibility for my actions.
Love Language Scores:
3 Words of Affirmation
5 Quality Time
9 Receiving Gifts
8 Acts of Service
5 Physical Touch
and this is what it said...

Receiving Gifts
Don't mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous--so would the absence of everyday gestures.

Apparently I heart gifts! I mean I did always love surprises growing up. It is so interesting to me, because I really do put so much time and effort into giving a gift and even a card (most times...) I always want it to be the perfect thing for that specific person. If you are wanting to take the assessment and see if you have changed or take it for the first time, go HERE. It really is fun and a great tool for understanding yourself and someone else. Enjoy.


Jenni said...

My husband and I both read this book - it's a GREAT one!! Very important to understanding how to better show love to your partner. Thanks for sharing!! :)